A Love Letter

When I started this blog, I told myself I would try my best to keep it from getting too personal. But I need to share this.

I’ve been smitten for a while now, but have only so far told my closest friends. I’m not quite sure they understand our relationship.

We met first through a friend. Since then, I’ve been completely, ridiculously, obsessively in love.

To be fair, Ive fallen in love everyday that I’ve been here in France. Foie gras makes me swoon..the crackle of a crusty loaf of baguette gets me excited, and I may have whispered some unspeakable things to a Kouign Amann once..

But this is different.

I’ve found myself in a long term, committed relationship…with Speculoos.

Yeah, I’m in love with a spread. The spread.

Not to be confused though, Speculoos is actually a crispy spice biscuit from Belgium.

The spread that I’m in love with, is called Speculoos a Tatiner, which is essentially made from those biscuits ground together. As a spread, it’s greater than any one cookie could ever hope to be on its own.

It comes in a jar with a red cap. It smells, like everything that is wonderful in life- like graham crackers mixed with gingerbread, mixed with cinnamon and a hint of peanuts.

It’s the spread next door- the jar is so unassuming, you wouldnt think anything of it. There are no animated characters on it, it has no slogan, no tagline, nothing. It doesnt need it.

I usually eat it with a spoon, but soft milk bread is a great vehicle for carrying it as well. Or crackers. I had only pretzels at my place once, and had some with that. It was awesome.

My second week of work at Jacques Genin’s has been ridiculous. I’m working 6 days this week, and then 14 days in a row after that..until Christmas.

I’ve been making Speculoos sandwiches with awesome raspberry jam Steven gave me for lunch. And dinner.

I’m already dreading the day when I leave France and have to come back to a Speculoos-less Canada..but that won’t be for a while. Maybe by then I would’ve found a new love.

For now, Speculoos, this haiku is for you:

Speculoos: An ode to

Luscious, creamy spread,

cookies ground to perfection

Christmas in a jar

I really need a vacation.

8 thoughts on “A Love Letter

  1. Dude, not even lying I too took my facebook to announce the Holy union between me and this spread the day I picked up that little baby in the grocery store.. its SPECTACULAR

  2. Have no fear! There is Speculoos in the States, so I’m pretty sure it’s in Toronto as well. I found it in my grocery store…just a 2 minute walk away. OMG! It’s under the name “Biscoff Spread”, but by the same brand, Lotus. And if you are really needing a Speculoos kick, I saw a recipe online to make it at home: http://alittleyum.com/2011/10/04/a-homemade-version-of-the-much-talked-about-speculoos-a-tartiner-spice-cookie-spread/

    I made speculoos creme patissiere the other day. Ben’s little cousin is almost 2 years old, and can’t quite talk yet. When she bit into the speculoos filled cream puff, her eyes went big! They positively lit up, and then she proceeded to inhale the rest. I think that’s the best customer review I’ve ever received!

  3. Pingback: Speculoos Speculoos Cookie Spectacular « Cake In The House

  4. Pingback: Speculoos Bon Bons | avec chantilly

Leave a comment